What are the two main parts of the nephron?

What are the two main parts of the nephron?

A: Bowman capsule and renal tube

B: Glomerulus and renal tube

C: Bowman Capsule and glomerulus

D: Glomerulus and Malpighian body.


The correct answer is option B.


The two main parts of the nephron are Glomerulus and renal tube.

The human excretory system is comprised of a pair of kidneys, ureters, bladder and the urethra. The microscopic unit of the kidney is the nephron which consists of a renal corpuscle and a renal tubule.

What are the two main parts of the nephron?


“Nephron is the basic functional unit of kidneys that consists of a glomerulus and its associated tubules through which the glomerular filtrate passes before it emerges as urine.”

It is the structural and functional unit of the kidney. It has a microscopic structure which consists of renal tubule and renal corpuscle. In each human kidney, there are millions of nephrons.

Renal tube and Glomerulus:

The renal tubule is a convoluted and a long structure which emerges from the glomerulus. The renal corpuscle is composed of a clump of blood capillaries which is called the glomerulus.

This glomerulus resides inside the Bowman’s capsule. The Bowman’s capsule is attached to the proximal convoluted tubule, which is the first part of the renal tubule.



Leave a comment